LPC Blog

The Library Publishing Coalition Blog is used to share news and updates about the LPC and the Library Publishing Forum, to draw attention to items of interest to the community, and to publish informal commentaries by LPC members and friends.

On behalf of the LPC Board, we are delighted to announce that the recipient of the 2022 LPC Award for Exemplary Service is Angel Peterson, Open Publishing Production Specialist at Penn State University. The Award recognizes substantial contributions by an LPC community member to advancing the mission, vision, and values of the Library Publishing Coalition.

Angel was nominated by multiple community members for her service on the Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Committee where she serves as a member and rotating chair. During her time on the committee, she has made substantial contributions to LPC’s Roadmap for Anti-Racist Practice and the revised LPC Code of Conduct, both important community documents. Further, this award recognizes how Angel went above and beyond by taking on extra responsibilities when necessary and even extending her term on the committee after other members had to resign their positions.

A statement from Angel: 

“Thank you so much for this recognition! I am very honored. This award means so much to me because Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion is very important in all aspects of my life. The D&I task force and eventually the DEI Committee was my first venture into the LPC as I only started my library publishing career in 2020 and I have loved every moment of it. Contributing positively to the advancement to DEI in the LPC Community with the Roadmap for Anti-Racist Practice and working on updating the Code of Conduct has been rewarding. It means a lot! Thank you.”

Angel will receive a complimentary registration to this year’s Library Publishing Forum and a $250 honorarium. She will also be recognized at the Forum.

Please join us in congratulating Angel.

On behalf of the LPC Board,
Emma Molls, President
Willa Tavernier, Secretary
Ally Laird, Treasurer
Perry Collins
Justin Gonder
Amanda Hurford
Jessica Kirschner
Elizabeth Scarpelli
Janet Swatscheno
Christine Fruin, Past President